Gloucester Gulls
Torquay United Supporters Club

Home Page
Gloucester Gulls
Gulls Blog
Fixtures / Results
League Table
TUFC Information
Brief History of TUFC
League Record
FA Cup Record
Away Fans
Map of Grounds
Message Board
Contact Us

About Torquay United...

Ground Plainmoor
Address Torquay United
Telephone 01803 - 328666
Fax 01803 - 323976
Directions to Ground Travel on the M5 south-bound to the end of the motorway (Jn 31) and join the A38. Turn onto the A380 and follow the signs until you reach Torquay. The ground is well sign posted. Street parking is available around the stadium.
Street Map Use the map below to get directions to and from the Plainmoor stadium (click on the marker to open an information window)
JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.
Directions to majority of away games From Gordano Services, travel upwards until you reach an urban sprawl where they used to make cars. Keep going until you run out of motorway and it becomes a bit more hilly and colder. Ask directions from there. Do not be scared by the fearsome looking Northerners with their flat caps and clogs - they are quite friendly. Set off early so as to leave time for lunch - traditional black pudding, chips and gravy. A word of warning however - water sterilisation tablets and hygiene jabs are recommended. Sun lotion need not be carried.
Reproduced from Mission Impossible - the original Torquay United fanzine.
Date Formed 1899
Date Entered Football League 1927
Nickname Gulls
Honours Champions Southern League 1926/27
Champions National League South 2018/19
Football League : Runners-up Division Three (South) 1956/57
3rd in Division Four 1959/60 (Promoted)
3rd in Division Four 1965/66 (Promoted)
7th in Division Four 1990/91 (Promoted via Play-off)
3rd in Division Three 2003/04 (Promoted)
FA Cup : Never reached the Fifth Round
Reached Fourth Round in 1948/49, 1954/55, 1970/71, 1982/83, 1989/90, 2008/09, 2010/11
League Cup : Never past the Third Round
Sherpa Van Trophy : Runners-up 1988/89
Record Attendance 21,908 v. Huddersfield Town, FA Cup Fourth Round 1954/55
Record Victory 9 - 0 v. Swindon Town - Division Three (South) 1951/52
Record Defeat 2 - 10 v. Fulham - Division Three (South) 1930/31
2 - 10 v. Luton Town - Division Three (South) 1932/33
Record Transfer Fee Paid Leon Constantine - 75,000 from Peterborough United, December 2004
Record Transfer Received Rodney Jack - 650,000 from Crewe Alexandra, July 1998
Youngest Player David Byng - 16 years and 36 days, v. Walsall 1993/94
Oldest Player Neville Southall (born 16 September 1958) playing against Chester City (away) on 29 January 2000 - aged 41 years and 135 days
Most Capped Player Rodney Jack, 15 appearances for St Vincent
Highest Scorer in one season Sammy Collins, 40 Division Three (South) 1955/56
Highest Scorer in total Sammy Collins, 204 League goals between 1948 and 1958
Most League appearances Kevin Hill, 474 between 1997 and 2008
Managers since joined League Percy Mackrill (1927-29); A.H. Hoskins (1929); Frank Womack (1929-32); Frank Brown (1932-38); Alf Steward (1938-40); Billy Butler (1945-46); Jack Butler (1946-47); John McNeil (1947-50); Bob John (1950); Alex Massie (1950-51); Eric Webber (1951-65); Frank O'Farrell (1965-68); Alan Brown (1969-71); Jack Edwards (1971-73); Malcolm Musgrove (1973-76); Mike Green (1977-81); Frank O'Farrell (1981-82); Bruce Rioch (1982-84); Dave Webb (1984-85); John Sims (1985); Stuart Morgan (1985-87); Cyril Knowles (1987-89); Dave Smith (1989-91); John Impey (1991-92); Ivan Golac (1992); Paul Compton (1992-93); Don O'Riordan (1993-95); Eddie May (1995-96); Kevin Hodges (1996-98); Wes Saunders (1998-2001); Roy McFarland (2001-2002); Leroy Rosenior (2002-2006); John Cornforth (2006-2006); Ian Atkins (2006-2006); Lubos Kubik (2006-2007); Keith Curle (2007-2007); Leroy Rosenior (2007-2007); Paul Buckle (2007-2011); Martin Ling (2011-2013); Alan Knill (2013-2014); Chris Hargreaves (2014-2015); Paul Cox (2015); Kevin Nicholson (2015 - 2017); Gary Owers (2017 - 2018); Gary Johnson (2018 - 2024)

Home Page Gloucester Gulls Fixtures / Results League Table TUFC Information A Brief History League Record Links Away Fans Contact Us

Page last modified : Thursday, 22 February 2024. E-mail comments to